What Happens If the Other Driver Has No Insurance?
Are you and your family protected from dangerous uninsured motorists? All too often Missouri residents are injured by people who do not have motor vehicle liability insurance available to cover the harms and losses inflicted in an auto accident. If you are injured by another driver in the State of Missouri who does not have auto liability insurance, it is crucial that you are prepared. A lack of preparation may result in financial ruin.
If you or someone you love has been hurt or killed as a result of a crash involving an uninsured motorist, St. Louis accident lawyer Chris Dixon can help. Christopher R. Dixon is recognized as a Top 100 Missouri Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association and a Life-Time Member of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum.
Missouri Financial Responsibility Law
Missouri law mandates that all motor vehicle drivers carry some form of automobile liability insurance coverage. It is against Missouri law to operate a motor vehicle on Missouri roadways without liability insurance. The Missouri Financial Responsibility Law, Chapter 303 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, governs auto insurance coverage in Missouri. Section 303.025 (1) RSMo., states as follows: “No owner of a motor vehicle registered in this state, or required to be registered in this state, shall operate, register or maintain registration of a motor vehicle, or permit another person to operate such vehicle, unless the owner maintains the financial responsibility which conforms to the requirements of the laws of this state.” In addition Section 303.025 (3) RSMo., makes it a class C misdemeanor for anyone who fails to comply with the Missouri Financial Responsibility Law. Despite the stern language and misdemeanor penalty, it comes as no surprise that many drivers continue to take the risk of driving without auto insurance. The Missouri Department of Revenue maintains detailed explanations and useful navigation of Missouri Insurance Laws.
If you operate a motor vehicle in the State of Missouri and hurt another driver, you are responsible for the harm regardless of whether or not you carry automobile insurance. However, if the uninsured driver does not have another means of reimbursing you for your harms and losses, you may have to shoulder the financial burden alone. To protect against this exact scenario, Missouri has enacted uninsured motorist laws as a safety net against irresponsible drivers.
Missouri Uninsured Motorist Law
The Missouri Financial Responsibility Law requires that anyone who operates a motor vehicle in Missouri have a minimum of $25,000 of uninsured motorist coverage. If you are injured by a reckless driver who does not have auto insurance, your uninsured motorist coverage will cover your injuries, lost wages, and other damages sustained in the accident. State law mandates that all insurance policies issued in the State of Missouri contain at least $25,000 of uninsured motorist coverage. Missouri’s uninsured motorist laws help to protect drivers who sustain injuries at the hands of those lacking liability insurance.
TIP: It is incredibly smart to carry uninsured motorist coverage limits in excess of the required minimum of $25,000 under Missouri Law. Serious injuries may require continuing medical treatment, prolonged lost wages, inability to work, etc. In order to fully protect yourself from uninsured drivers, it is recommended that you increase your uninsured motorist coverage to a level sufficient to fully protect yourself from unknown future risk.
Uninsured Motorist Case Overview
Drivers must remember that when they pursue an uninsured motorist claim, they are proceeding against their own insurance company. For this reason many drivers fall into the false sense of security that their insurance company is looking out for their best interests. Despite your payment of timely premiums and knowing your agent by his first name, the insurance industry is a billion dollar for-profit operation. Insurance companies did not become billionaires by paying out claims. Their profits come through one simple concept: take in more money than they pay out to injury victims.
For this simple fact, it is crucial that you seek legal representation when dealing with your own insurance company. The insurance companies have highly trained investigators who immediately go to work attempting to find evidence to use against you. The denial of your claim translates into an increased profit for their company. It is imperative that you seek an uninsured motorist lawyer capable of fighting back against corporate greed to ensure you receive full reimbursement for all of your harms and losses.
Contact an Uninsured Motorist Lawyer Today
St. Louis uninsured accident lawyer Chris Dixon has extensive experience handling uninsured accident injury claims throughout the State of Missouri. For an immediate FREE uninsured motorist case evaluation, call Christopher R. Dixon at 314-409-7060, or toll-free at 855-402-7247. Case intake specialists are standing by 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.