On March 29, 2015, at 1:20 a.m., a two vehicle crash claimed one life and left three others injured on Route HH .2 miles west of Duckhead Road in Camden County, Missouri. The Missouri State Highway Patrol reports that a 1992 Nissan Truck being driven by John L. McGowin (53 years old), westbound on Route HH, failed to negotiate a curve and crossed the center line, striking a 2014 Chevrolet Sonic head on. The Sonic was being driven eastbound on Route HH by 24 year old Amelia Johnson and was carrying passengers Trenton Mann and Jesse Smith.
John McGowin was reportedly killed on impact. Amelia, Trenton and Jesse all suffered injuries and were transported to Lake Regional Hospital by Lake Ozark Ambulance. It is reported that John McGowin was an uninsured motorist, however, Amelia carried motor vehicle insurance with State Farm. This crash represents Troop F’s 4th fatality for March and 13th for 2015.
How to Proceed After a Crash with an Uninsured Motorist?
It is incredibly unfortunate when drivers do not carry motor vehicle insurance as mandated by Missouri law. A lack of insurance often leaves the injured party physically and financially devastated. However, Missouri law mandates that all motor vehicle polices sold in the state carry ‘uninsured motorist coverage’ of no less than $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist coverage is designed as a safe guard to help provide financial compensation for those injured by drivers who fail to carry insurance as mandated by Missouri law.
As applied to the facts above, the auto insurance Amelia carried through State Farm will have a minimum of $25,000 per person, and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage available to help reimburse Amelia, Trenton and Jesse for their medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering and other accident related damages. In addition to the State Farm policy carried by Amelia, if Trenton or Jesse has a separate insurance policy on a vehicle not involved in the crash, the uninsured motorist coverage on that policy may also apply if the State Farm policy is insufficient to fully reimburse the injured parties for their losses.
What Do I Do After An Accident With An Uninsured Motorist?
The very first thing you should do after any crash is make sure you are examined by a medical professional. There is no rush to start the claims process. It is extremely important that you make sure there are no life threatening injuries before moving forward. Once you have made sure your medical condition is stable, you can begin to move forward with the claims process.
Before you can move forward with a uninsured motorist claim, you must first ensure the other driver has no insurance which may apply to your case. Uninsured motorist coverage will not apply unless it is proven the other did in fact lack insurance. An Ozark accident lawyer will conduct an examination into the case to determine if the at fault party has any insurance which may apply. In a case where the at fault driver is killed in the accident, the responding police are often simply unable to locate the drivers insurance due to the tragic circumstances; however, it is often the case that the driver did in fact have insurance on the vehicle.
If the at fault driver is in fact an uninsured motorist, it is crucial that your accident lawyer conduct a proper coverage analysis to determine how much insurance is available for your injuries and damages. Insurance companies operating for profit are not always forthcoming with information about your right to pursue an uninsured motorist claim. As is often the case, the insurance company will simply try to tell the injury victim that the driver was not at fault for the crash and therefore they cannot pay a claim under the liability coverage. However, your injury attorney will help make sure the claim is being submitted under the uninsured motorist portion of the policy and not the liability coverage. These tactics of the insurance companies help save them hundreds of millions of dollars each year by taking advantage of unknowing injury victims who fail to ask the proper questions.
How Much Does It Cost To Hire An Injury Lawyer?
As a Top 100 Trial Lawyer, there is NO FEE for our services unless we win your case. There is also no fee to give us a call and discuss your case, as all initial consultations are free. Through our aggressive representation, we have helped numerous client’s find insurance coverage to help reimburse them for their harms and losses after other lawyers have told them no coverage was available.
Our efforts have helped recover over $35,000,000 for injury victims through judgements, settlements and verdicts. Call 314-409-7060 for a FREE CASE EVALUATION, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are here to serve.